St John’s was founded in 1923. The School is registered as a Charity and is managed by the Head and his team, who report to a Board of Trustees.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees are elected by the Council of Members and appointed as the legal directors of the School. They set the School’s strategic direction and are accountable to all stakeholders for the School, meeting regularly throughout the year.

Trustees serve for a term of four years before being eligible for re-election. Prior to being recommended for re-election they are appraised by a committee of Trustees and the Chairman, as appropriate. With the exception of the Chairman, who in addition to time as a Board Member may serve as Chairman for ten years maximum. Trustees may not serve more than three terms of four years.

The Trustees bring experience from the charitable, educational, financial and commercial sectors, the clergy, the armed forces and civil services. They carry a considerable burden of responsibility on an entirely voluntary basis and the School is very grateful for their support and commitment.

Chairman of Trustees

Kathryn Carden has been Chairman of the Trustees since July 2014. Kathryn has over 30 years’ experience working with organisations in both the public and the private sector, as a line director, a non-executive director, project manager, consultant and lecturer. She is currently an Associate Fellow of the Saïd Business School at the University of Oxford, where she directs and teaches on leadership programmes for professional service firms, multi-national corporations, the National School of Government and the Civil Service.

Current Board of Trustees

Mrs K A Carden MPhil

Lt Col E Taylor BA RA

Rev’d Jane Chaffey, MA, BA

The Revd R M Coombs BSc MA

Mrs H S L Daltry BA

S Bullingham MSc BSc

A Marsden

C S S Drew MA

I Duffin FCA BCom, Vice Chairman & Treasurer

G McDonald

Mrs S L Hirst BEd

Mrs K Riding LLB

M P Smith MA


Mrs Kathryn Carden
Chairman of the Board of Trustees
c/o The Bursary
Dean Close Foundation
Dean Close House
67 Lansdown Road, Cheltenham
GL51 6QD

The Board of Trustees delegates the day to day running of the School to the Heads. Any parental concerns should be raised with the Heads and their staff in the first instance.


The following committees meet regularly to assist the Board in the governance of the School. The committees report to the Board of Trustees and their terms of reference are regularly reviewed. Meetings are also attended by the Senior Management of the School, as appropriate.

  • Finance and General Purpose Committee: Financial policy and detailed governance of the School.
  • Nominations Committee: Consideration of prospective Council and Board Members and recommendations to the Board of Trustees, together with succession planning. New Trustees and Council Members are proposed to Council by the Board of Trustees.
  • Concessions Working Party: Policy on the granting of fee discounts and review of larger awards.
  • Remunerations Committee: Review of senior staff remuneration.


The Members of the Company are known collectively as the Council. The Members act as ambassadors for the School, using their wide range of knowledge and experience for the benefit of the School.

Council members are appointed following a recommendation to the Nominations Committee, a small sub-committee of Trustees under the Chairman of the Board. If anyone is interested in being considered for membership of the Council, they should approach the Clerk to the Governors for further information. Any applications will be considered by the Nominations Committee with reference to the School’s needs and the ability of the nominee to contribute; if appropriate they are recommended to the Board and Council for election. Council Members serve for a term of five years before being eligible for re-election.

The primary function of the Council is to elect the Trustees and to hold them to account for the policy and direction of the School. It meets formally twice a year to receive the Annual Report and Accounts and to elect the Board of Trustees. At these meetings the Council is given presentations on various aspects of the School’s activities. To read this year’s Annual Report, click here.

Council Members

The Council is led by the President, currently Lord Ribeiro, CBE.

Revd M Allen

Revd S Austen BSc MA Dip Min

Mr M Bowen

Mr H Bradby


Mr M J Cartwright, BA FCA

*Mrs S Clayton

Mr B R Davies OBE

Mrs R Dick, BA ACA

Mrs C Dowler

Mr J Drew, MEng

Mrs R Eden

Mrs Chloe Fletcher

Mr S Foster

Mr D Goode, MA M Phil

Mr J Hall

Mr B Harding MBA

*Revd Dr J M Holmes, MA PhD VetMB MRCVS

Mr A J Hunt

Mr A Judge

*Mrs F L Knight, BA

Mr T R Lewis

Mr R Lock CBE, BSc

The Revd R Mackay

Mr David Main

Mr P Maynard

Mr James Moos

*Mr D Mullins

Mrs P G Napier

*Mrs C Pack

Mrs K Pinsent

Mr M Philip-Sorensen

Dr A Porter

*Lord Ribeiro CBE, FRCS

Dr C Roberts

Mr F J Shaw, MA MSc CEng CSci

Mr P Silvester ACIB, BA

*Mr T Spencer

Mrs J Sykes, BA

Mr Simon Thomas, BA LLM

Mr Stephen Thomas, BA LLB

*Mr J Townsend, MA

The Revd Canon P R Williams, MTh

Rt Revd P Williams

*Old Decanian


Emeritus Members:

Mr C L Buckett

Mrs G M Cocks

Mrs C Laine

Mr C Rank

Rev Canon Tim Watson

Mr R Taylor


St Johns, Dean Close School, is a company limited by guarantee and registered in England No. 4193948 which has its registered office at Dean Close School, Shelburne Road, Cheltenham, GL51 6HE. Charity registered in England and Wales No. 1086829.


Contact Us

Dean Close St John’s
NP16 7LE
United Kingdom

Tel: +44 (0)1291 622045

Admissions Enquiries
Tel: +44 (0)1291 622045